Circ Jockeys

Circ Jockeys #19 – Declaration of Indecision

Posted in Comics by Steeb on November 19, 2009

(Click on the comic for a larger image)

I sometimes think that it would serve to wait on declaring a major until after you have finished your undergrad coursework. After you are done, just shake up your transcript and throw it on the table, ya know, like scrying bones. It isn’t like any students at a liberal arts college actually know what they want to do with their degrees (at least not any of the students I know). I have every intention of doing absolutely nothing with my degree in English. I blame, in part, my transfer adviser for looking at me like I was completely nuts when I told him that I wanted to be a cartoonist. Let the education squandering begin!

Honestly, even with 120-some-odd credits, how is someone that has not been into the real world supposed to know what to do? It isn’t like going to dental or medical school where you receive a valuable skill set. A degree in English doesn’t really give any hints about where a person should look for work, not even a broad point in the direction of a field. Case in point: my sister, with a Master’s Degree in the Humanities who now works in a human resources office.

See also: Peter Parker’s photojournalism skill set being applied to saving the world.

Maybe that is why Scholasticism and Academia have such huge appeal to us Liberal Artists… Seems only fair that we should be a part of the system that is failing us. Destroy it from the inside, as the revolutionary in me says.

Anyways, new comic to appear spontaneously on Tuesday. I will be updating on Thanksgiving, too. So, watch out for that.

-Steve

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Matt C. said, on November 19, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Here I am, a year and a half later, with an English degree and considering a job at Verizon. Doing what you enjoy in college sucks down the road unless you enjoy fffffuckin’ math and science! It’s unfair that the boring subjects get more jobs =/


Leave a Reply

